The Prime Minister’s Literary Awards 2013

The Prime Minister has announced the opening of the 2013 Prime Minister’s Literary Awards.

Nominations are open for six categories- adult fiction, non-fiction, Australian history, poetry, young adult fiction and children’s fiction.

The winner of each award will receive $80,000 tax-free while the shortlisted entries in each category will receive $5,000 tax-free.

The Prime Minister’s Media Release: ‘These awards play an important role in highlighting the outstanding literary talent Australia and the valuable contribution Australian literature and history makes to the nation’s cultural and intellectual life.’

 Three judging panels of 11 industry experts will judge the entries and will select shortlists and winners for each of the six categories.

To enter, participants must be living Australian citizens or permanent residents. Entries must have been first published in English between 1 January 2012 and 31 December 2012 and offered for general sales within Australia between these dates.

Entries close at 5.00pm on Wednesday 16 January 2013 and the shortlists will be announced in May 2013.

For more information visit View the entry guidelines here.

You can also follow the Prime Minister’s Literary Awards on Facebook and follow the Office of the Arts on Twitter.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s