The 2012 Man Booker Prize Longlist

The Man Booker Prize Longlist was announced on July 25th. The prize, which Cover image 'Bring up the Bodies' celebrated its 40th anniversary in 2008, aims to promote the ‘finest in fiction by rewarding the very best book of the year. The prize is the world’s most important literary award and has the power to transform the fortunes of authors and publishers.’ (

To be nominated, works must be written by a citizen of the United Kingdom, the Commonwealth or the Republic of Ireland. Judges are selected from a wide variety of disciplines, including critics, writers, academics, poets, politicians and actors.

‘The winner of the Man Booker Prize receives £50,000 and, like all the shortlisted authors, a cheque for £2,500 and a designer bound copy of their book. Fulfilling one of the objectives of the prize – to encourage the widest possible readership for the best in literary fiction – the winner and the shortlisted authors now enjoy a dramatic increase in book sales worldwide. (information sourced from

Last year’s winner was Julian Barnes’ The Sense of an Ending. Past winning novels include Wolf Hall by Hilary Mantel, The Life of Pi by Yann Martel and True History of the Kelly Gang by Peter Carey.

The 2012 longlist:

Nicola Barker, The Yips (Fourth Estate)
Ned Beauman, The Teleportation Accident (Sceptre)
André Brink, Philida (Harvill Secker)
Tan Twan Eng, The Garden of Evening Mists (Myrmidon Books)
Michael Frayn, Skios (Faber & Faber)
Rachel Joyce, The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry (Doubleday)
Deborah Levy, Swimming Home (And Other Stories)
Hilary Mantel, Bring up the Bodies (Fourth Estate)
Alison Moore, The Lighthouse (Salt)
Will Self, Umbrella (Bloomsbury)
Jeet Thayil, Narcopolis (Faber & Faber)
Sam Thompson, Communion Town (Fourth Estate)

 The shortlist will be announced 11 th September 2012.